Best High-Power Electric Chainsaw 2026: Gas-Like Cutting for Big Logs and Hardwood
When you buy through the Amazon links on this page, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more
Last updated October 31, 2026
The EGO Power+ CS2000 is an electric chainsaw for big logs and hardwood on this page: a 20-inch bar, chain speed up to 25 m/s and the power of a 55cc gas saw, with up to 230 cuts on a 4x4 on the recommended 6.0Ah pack. The Oregon CS1500 is the corded answer, a 15 A saw whose power never sags because it comes straight from the outlet.
The most powerful electric chainsaws for 2026
EGO Power+ CS2000
See on Amazon
Greenworks 82CS34-4DP
See on Amazon
DeWalt DCCS677B
See on AmazonModel comparison
| Model | Price | Rating | Bar length | Power source | Weight | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EGO Power+ CS2000 | $329.00 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 4.6 (150+ ratings) | 20 in | Battery powered | 12.7 lb | EGO platform owners and large-bar battery buyers get a 20-inch bar, 55 cc gas equivalent and 25 m/s chain speed. |
| Greenworks 82CS34-4DP | $599.99 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 4.2 (20+ ratings) | 20 in | not stated | 12.4 lb | Cordless-first buyers wanting the strongest platform voltage here get a complete kit with 4.0 Ah battery and charger included. |
| DeWalt DCCS677B | $359.94 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 4.1 (150+ ratings) | 20 in | not stated | not stated | DeWalt 60 V platform owners wanting a 20-inch cordless saw get 4 hp and a bare tool that uses batteries they own. |
| EGO Power+ CS1815 chainsaw | $419.00 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 5.0 (40+ ratings) | 18 in | Battery powered | not stated | Firewood cutters wanting a complete kit with the longest advertised runtime get an 18-inch bar, 6.0Ah battery and 330 cuts. |
| Oregon CS1500 chainsaw | $133.87 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 4.4 (9,400+ ratings) | 18 in | Corded electric | 12.6 lb | Homeowners bucking firewood or dropping limbs near an outlet get the strongest motor here, an 18-inch bar and on-saw sharpening in 3 seconds. |
What separates the most powerful electric chainsaws from the rest
Three specs predict cutting force in hardwood: motor output in watts or kilowatts, chain speed at the bar, and torque delivered at the sprocket. Everything else on a spec sheet is orientation at best.
The arithmetic you can do yourself
Corded saws are rated in amps at 120 V, so watts = amps × 120. A 15 A saw is an 1,800 W input machine, and a saw rated at 2,400 W draws about 20 A. That is input power; motor output is lower because no motor converts all of it.
Battery saws are rated in volts and Ah, and neither is power. Watts = volts × amps, and watt-hours = volts × Ah. A high-voltage pack with small Ah can hold less energy than a low-voltage pack with large Ah, so a 2.0 Ah pack at 80 V stores 160 Wh while a 12.0 Ah pack at 18 V stores 216 Wh.
Max voltage is not nominal voltage
A pack labeled 20V Max is 18 V nominal, and a 60V Max pack is 54 V nominal. Comparing voltage numbers across brands tells you nothing about power, because each maker picks the peak figure for the label.
Gas-equivalent cc is shorthand, not a measurement
Makers quote a gas-equivalent cc figure to say roughly what displacement of gas saw the electric one replaces. It is a manufacturer claim, useful for orientation, and it is never a measured output.
Brushless versus brushed motors
A brushless motor runs more efficiently, lasts longer and tolerates heat better at high output than a brushed one. On a saw that will spend time with a full bar buried in oak, that heat tolerance is the difference between finishing the log and waiting for a cooldown.
Chain speed versus torque is gearing, not a ranking
A fast chain, in the 25 to 30 m/s range, clears softwood quickly. A slower, high-torque drive feels planted in hardwood and resists bogging. Neither is more powerful; they are geared for different work.
Chain gauge and pitch carry power
A full-size 3/8-inch low-profile chain at 0.050-inch gauge is the mark of a saw built to take load. A 0.043-inch micro chain is lighter and easier on the motor, but it wears faster and is fragile in hardwood.
Numbers to ignore
- Peak max watts with no duty rating.
- Horsepower figures with no rpm stated.
- cc-equivalent claims quoted without a bar length.
- Any voltage figure presented as a power figure.
Corded versus battery power at the top of the range
At the very top, corded still wins on sustained watts per dollar and on runtime, because mains power does not sag and does not need recharging. A 15 A, 1,800 W corded saw pulls its rated power from the first cut to the last, while a battery saw's output falls as the pack discharges and heats.
The household circuit is the corded ceiling
A standard 15 A, 120 V branch circuit is the practical ceiling for a plug-in saw in the US. The biggest corded models ask for a 20 A circuit and a heavy-gauge extension cord, and without them the saw cannot deliver what its rating promises.
What caps battery power in practice
Platform voltage sets the ceiling on motor speed and torque. Ah sets energy, which is runtime, not power. Continuous discharge rate and cell temperature decide how much of the stored energy can be delivered before the saw throttles itself to protect the pack.
The strongest battery saws reach into 50 to 80cc gas territory on paper. That advantage narrows or reverses on long continuous cuts in dense wood, because thermal management becomes the limit rather than the motor.
The decision rule
Unlimited runtime and maximum sustained watts point to corded, if a circuit and a cord reach the work. Freedom from the cord and near-gas performance in short bursts point to a high-voltage battery saw.
Why high-power electric saws bog down and how to keep the chain pulling
On a high-power electric saw, bogging is usually the setup, not the motor. Each cause has a fix.
Voltage drop on long or thin extension cords
A 15 A saw on a 100 ft 16-gauge cord loses voltage and torque. Use the shortest, heaviest-gauge cord the manual allows.
Chain sharpness and depth-gauge setting
A dull or over-raked chain turns a strong motor into a stalling one. Sharpen often and keep depth gauges to spec.
Bar oil flow
A dry bar and chain bind and drag. Check the oiler and keep the reservoir filled.
Cutting technique
Leaning on the saw, letting the bar tip bind, or forcing a rocked chain all trigger bog-down. Let the chain cut at its own speed and use the bucking spikes for leverage.
Chain tension
Too tight drags, too loose derails. Check tension before each session.
Where an overload cutout is fitted, it is protecting the motor from exactly these conditions.
Heat, duty cycle and overload protection in high-output electric motors
Continuous cutting heats an electric motor and, on battery saws, the pack. Heat limits real-world output more than the spec sheet does.
Thermal cutouts and overload protection
These cut power when the motor or electronics exceed a temperature or current threshold. Work with them: cut in cycles, let the saw idle to cool, do not force a stalled chain, and expect a cooldown pause after long sessions of buried-bar cutting.
Soft-start and electronic speed control
Soft-start electronics ramp the motor up rather than slamming it, which is easier on the circuit and on you. Electronic speed control holds chain speed under load on better saws.
Battery heat
Packs heat under high continuous discharge, and a hot pack delivers less. A spare pack and a cool place to rest it extend a session.
A working rhythm
Alternate cutting with light work, keep the chain sharp so the motor is not doing the chain's job, and treat a cutout as a signal to change technique rather than a fault.
Our picks by budget
The Oregon CS1500 is our budget pick because it puts 15 A of corded power behind an 18-inch bar for the least money on this page, with a self-sharpening chain that saves filing time.
The DeWalt DCCS677B is our mid-range pick because it brings a 20-inch bar and a 4 hp rating to a 60 V cordless platform as a bare tool, so the money goes into the saw rather than into batteries you may already own.
The Greenworks 82CS34-4DP is our premium pick because the highest voltage on this page comes as a complete kit, with the 4.0 Ah battery and charger in the box and a 12.4-pound body built for felling and firewood.
Budget
Mid-range
High-end
Which electric chainsaw for which buyer
The right saw depends on where you cut, what you cut and which batteries you already own.
Big hardwood, outlet within reach
An 18-inch bar and unlimited runtime, with a self-sharpening chain that keeps maintenance low.
Already on a 60 V platform
A bare tool with a 20-inch bar and a 4 hp rating, so you add a big-bar cordless saw without buying duplicate batteries.
Strongest cordless kit in the box
The highest platform voltage on this page, with the battery and charger included so the saw is ready to cut on arrival.
Longest bar and fastest chain, cordless
A 20-inch bar, chain speed up to 25 m/s and 55cc-equivalent power for large branches, stumps and tall trees, for anyone already on EGO 56V packs.
Complete kit, shorter bar, top runtime
A 50cc-equivalent saw with an 18-inch bar and up to 330 cuts on a 4x4 with the included 6.0Ah battery, plus tool-free tensioning and bucking spikes.
Our verdict on the most powerful electric chainsaws
The EGO Power+ CS2000 wins this page because it combines the top cordless power class, a 20-inch bar and the runtime of the recommended 6.0Ah pack, which is what big logs and hardwood demand. The Oregon CS1500 earns its place as the best corded option: 15 A of mains power that never sags, unlimited runtime and a self-sharpening chain, provided an outlet and a heavy-gauge cord reach the work. The Greenworks 82CS34-4DP is the most expensive of the ranked products. Weigh the trade-offs honestly: weight at the top of the range, batteries and charger to buy on bare tools, circuit requirements on corded saws, and heat limits on any high-output electric motor.
Detailed model analysis
A saw that will spend its life in oak and maple needs watts, chain speed and a bar long enough for the trunk, and each of these saws brings a different mix of the three.
EGO Power+ CS2000
This Ego Power+ saw is built for big logs and hardwood. Its 20-inch bar and brushless motor match the power of a 55cc gas saw, without the noise, fuss or fumes of gas.
The chain runs at up to about 82 ft/s (25 m/s), which helps in dense wood. The 20-inch bar is sized for large branches, stumps and tall trees.
With the recommended 6.0Ah ARC Lithium battery, it makes up to 230 cuts on a 4x4 per charge. That is a maximum figure.
A digital display lets you pick a speed mode and check the battery charge. An omnidirectional auto chain brake sensor backs up the kickback brake, and a front LED light helps you see the cut at dusk.
It is a bare tool: battery and charger are not included, and it only runs on an Ego Power+ 56V ARC Lithium battery. At 12.7 lb, it is slightly heavier than the Greenworks 82CS34-4DP at 12.4 lb.
It suits you if you already own Ego 56V batteries, or want a 20-inch cordless saw for hardwood and large logs.
- Brand: Ego Power+
- Bar length: 20 in
- Power source: Battery powered
- Weight: 12.7 lb
- Dimensions: 39.76 in long, 11.22 in wide and 12.6 in high
- Included: Bare tool, battery and charger not included
Greenworks 82CS34-4DP
The Greenworks 82CS34-4DP gives you everything in one box: an 82V 4.0 Ah battery, a charger and a manual. You can start cutting once the battery is charged.
Power is rated at 4.57 hp, with a 20-inch bar that suits tree felling, firewood cutting and storm cleanup. The EGO Power+ CS2000 and the DEWALT DCCS677B share that bar length.
A brushless motor drives it, and it also handles limbing and pruning, so you work without the gas, fumes and upkeep of a gas engine.
Battery and charger are included, while the EGO Power+ CS2000 and the DEWALT DCCS677B are bare tools. At 12.4 lb, it weighs less than the EGO Power+ CS2000 (12.7 lb) and the Oregon CS1500 (12.6 lb).
The main limit is that the battery is smaller than the pack that comes with the EGO Power+ CS1815.
It suits you if you want a complete 82V kit with a 20-inch bar for firewood and storm cleanup.
- Brand: Greenworks
- Voltage: 82 V
- Battery capacity: 4.0 Ah
- Bar length: 20 in
- Power: 4.57 hp
- Weight: 12.4 lb
DeWalt DCCS677B
The DEWALT DCCS677B is a 20-inch cordless chainsaw on DEWALT's 60V platform. It is sold as a bare tool, so it makes the most sense if you already own the batteries and charger.
The 20-inch bar matches the EGO Power+ CS2000 and the Greenworks 82CS34-4DP. It gives you more bar for larger logs and hardwood than the shorter bars on the EGO Power+ CS1815 chainsaw and the Oregon CS1500 chainsaw.
Battery and charger are not included. You need a 60V battery and a charger before you can cut anything. The pack you pick decides how long you cut between charges.
If you start from zero, the Greenworks 82CS34-4DP puts a battery and charger in the box with the same 20-inch bar. The EGO Power+ CS2000 needs 56V packs.
It suits you if you already own DEWALT 60V batteries and a charger and want a 20-inch cordless saw for larger logs and thick limbs.
- Brand: DeWalt
- Voltage: 60 V
- Bar length: 20 in
- Power: 4 hp
- Battery: Not included
EGO Power+ CS1815 chainsaw
The EGO Power+ CS1815 is a complete kit for firewood. It includes a 6.0Ah ARC Lithium battery and a 320W charger, and its power matches a 50cc gas saw.
It claims up to 330 cuts on a 4x4 per charge, a maximum figure. The EGO Power+ CS2000 claims up to 230 cuts on its recommended 6.0Ah pack, sold separately.
With the battery included, you skip the separate pack that the EGO Power+ CS2000 or the DEWALT DCCS677B require.
The 18-inch bar handles large branches, stumps and tall trees. The EGO Power+ CS2000, Greenworks 82CS34-4DP and DEWALT DCCS677B all have 20-inch bars, which is its main limit for very thick logs.
A brushless motor, a tool-free chain tensioning dial and large metal bucking spikes round out the kit. An LED display shows speed modes and charge, and an adjustable front light lights the cut.
The tool carries a 5-year warranty, and the battery and charger carry 3 years. The Oregon CS1500 has 2 years. It suits you if you want a ready-to-cut cordless kit for firewood and yard cleanup.
- Brand: Ego Power+
- Bar length: 18 in
- Power source: Battery powered
- Battery capacity: 6.0 Ah
- Charger power: 320 W
Oregon CS1500 chainsaw
The Oregon CS1500 is the only corded saw of the five. It draws power from an outlet at 15 A, starts instantly and needs no gas-oil mixing.
Its self-sharpening PowerSharp chain lets you pull a lever and sharpen the chain in 3 seconds. The 18-inch chain is the same length as the one on the EGO Power+ CS1815.
An automatic oiler lubricates the bar and chain, and tool-less tensioning means you tighten a ring on the side cover. The design is low kickback. It weighs 12.6 lb and a 2-year warranty covers it.
Because it plugs in, there is no battery to buy and no charger to pack, unlike the EGO Power+ CS2000 and the DEWALT DCCS677B bare tools. The cord ties you to a power outlet.
It is made for trimming branches and limbs in a yard. For big logs and hardwood, the longer bar on the EGO Power+ CS2000 gives you more reach.
It suits you if you drop limbs near an outlet and want a saw you never charge or refuel.
- Brand: Oregon
- Bar length: 18 in
- Power source: Corded electric
- Current: 15 A
- Weight: 12.6 lb
- Overall size: 37.5 in long, 18 in wide and 10.5 in high
Frequently asked questions
Watts, amps, gas-equivalent cc and circuit limits decide how much saw you actually need.
What is the most powerful electric chainsaw on this page?
The EGO Power+ CS2000, on advertised gas-equivalent output and a 20-inch bar. Among corded saws, the Oregon CS1500 is our pick, rated at 15 A.
Is a corded or a battery electric chainsaw more powerful for big logs?
Corded holds its rated watts for as long as the outlet feeds it, so it wins on sustained power and runtime. A battery saw can match it in short bursts but loses ground on long cuts in dense wood, and a corded saw is limited by the household circuit it plugs into.
How many watts is a 15 amp electric chainsaw?
About 1,800 W of input power, since watts = amps × 120 V. Push the rating to 2,400 W and the draw climbs to roughly 20 A, which is why the biggest corded models want a 20 A circuit.
What cc gas chainsaw does a 50cc or 55cc-equivalent electric match?
Treat it as orientation: gearing, chain gauge and how the saw holds power under load decide how it actually feels in hardwood.
Can a high-power electric chainsaw cut a 16 to 20-inch hardwood log?
Yes, in the top class, with a bar long enough for the trunk, a sharp full-size chain and a steady technique. Hardwood keeps the kerf tight, so a saw that handles pine at 18 inches may bog in oak at 14.
Why does my electric chainsaw bog down or cut out?
Usually a long thin extension cord dropping voltage, a dull chain, a dry bar, wrong tension or too much push on the saw. A thermal cutout then stops the motor to protect it, and the fix is the setup, not the motor.
Do I need a special circuit or extension cord for a powerful corded chainsaw?
A 15 A saw runs on a standard 15 A branch circuit, and the biggest corded models ask for 20 A. Keep the run short and the gauge heavy, because a long thin cord costs voltage and torque.
Does higher voltage mean a more powerful battery chainsaw?
No. Compare watt-hours and continuous discharge instead of the voltage on the label, and expect a pack to deliver less as it heats under long continuous cuts.